Carsten Hustedt, Michael Siefke

Flute and gong, percussion

The gong: Metal, cast in a round form, hammered and figured in many shapes, fascinating and able to produce mysterious sounds…

As its counterpart: sometimes jumbled, sometimes in contrast- Flutes of metal and bamboo, ranging from piccolo to bass…

An evening of 1001 sounds between “splashes of acoustic color” from a rainmaker or drums, anklung or bamboo xylophone,.


The two percussionists, Michael Siefke and Martin Muntwyler, combine the traditional Asian art of movement and sound with influences from the West and their own compositions. The Buk with its strong archaic sound originates from Korea, as well as the hourglass shaped Changgo, which fascinates audiences with its virtuous sound.

As a contrast there is the warm sounding bamboo of the Balinese rantangs against the mysterious melodies of gongs and singing bowls.

A concert for all senses: to marvel at the dance, the fusion of the drums and movement, to listen to familiar and surprising new sounds, to be touched and moved by an array of vibrations.

Flores Rosarum

The ensemble flores rosarum was founded in 1991, with the aim of making the music from Hildegard von Bingen available to a larger audience. Flores rosarum repertoire has now widened to include composers of the 12th to 15th century.

The ensemble is made up of specialists of old traditional music as well as classically educated musicians who are connected by the improvisation of music from different cultures.

Flores rosarum intentionally does not play in a historically informed way, but rather they use a combination of historical and folkloristic elements, which make a new, versatile whole. In this new whole, the universal aspects of the styles are emphasized and yet combined.

As such, the different parts of music overlap, be they written, verbally transmitted or improvised music. The first CD, which was released in 1998 on the 900th Birthday of Hildegard von Bingen, builds a bridge between the music of the 12th and the artistic music of the 20th century.


When Michael Siefke presents his solo program, the Korean buk, Japanese singing bowls, Caribbean steel drums, African djembé, all start vibrating and producing a stimulating array of sounds.

In the cross fire between strong, pulsating drums, flowing meditative sounds and melodious percussion passages, rhythm and sound energies blend together to form many nuances and strong expressive images.

Solo concerts and musical frameworks are suitable for exhibitions, private art viewings or other cultural events.

DUALAGU

Carsten Hustedt, Michael Siefke

Flöte und Gongs-Percussion

Der Gong – Metall, im Rund gegossen und gehämmert, vielfältig geformt, faszinierender und geheimnisvoller Klang…

Als Gegenüber – mal sich vermischend, mal in Kontrast stehend – Flöten aus Metall und Bambus von Piccolo bis Baß…

Dazwischen Farbtupfer mit Regenmacher und Trommel, Anklungs und Bambusxylophon, ein Abend mit 1001 Klang.

Samsuara

Die beiden Percussionisten Michael Siefke und Martin Muntwyler verbinden in ihrem Duo-Programm traditionelle asiatische Klang- und Bewegungskunst mit westlichen Einflüssen und Eigenkompositionen. Aus Korea stammen die Buktrommeln mit ihrem kraftvollen, archaischen Klang sowie die sanduhrförmige Changgo, die durch ihre virtuose Sprache fasziniert.

Im Gegensatz dazustehen der warm klingende Bambus der balinesischen Rantangs und die geheimnisvollen Melodien der Gongs und Klangschalen.

Ein Konzertabend für alle Sinne: zum Staunen über das tänzerische Spiel, den spielerischen Tanz zwischen Trommeln, zum Lauschen und Horchen auf vertrautere und aufregend-neue Klänge, zum Bewegt- und Berührtwerden durch unterschiedlichste Schwingungen.

Flores Rosarum

Das Ensemble flores rosarum wurde 1997 mit dem Ziel gegründet, die Musik Hildegard von Bingens einem breiteren Publikum zugänglich zu machen. Das Repertoire von flores rosarum hat sich inzwischen auch auf andere Komponisten des 12. bis 15. Jahrhunderts erweitert.

Das Ensemble setzt sich sowohl aus Spezialisten der Alten Musik als auch klassisch ausgebildeten Musikern zusammen, die der improvisierenden Musik verschiedener Kulturkreise verbunden sind.

flores rosarum verzichtet bewußt auf eine sogenannte historische Aufführungspraxis und zieht eine Kombination historischer und folkloristischer Elemente vor, die ein neues vielfältiges Ganzes ergeben, in dem die universellen Aspekte der Musikstile gleichzeitig herausgehoben und dennoch vereint werden sollen.

So überlappen sich die Bereiche von aufgeschriebener, mündlich überlieferter und improvisierter Musik.
Die erste CD, die 1998 zum 900. Geburtstag der Hildegard von Bingen erschien, stellt einen Dialog zwischen der Musik des 12. und der Kunstmusik des 20. Jahrhunderts dar.

SOLO

Koreanische Buktrommeln, japanische Klangschalen, karibische Steeldrum und afrikanische Djembé beginnen auf vielfältige Weise zu klingen und zu vibrieren, wenn Michael Siefke einen Ausschnitt aus seinem Soloprogramm präsentiert.

Im Spannungsfeld von kraftvoll pulsierenden Trommeln, fließenden meditativen Klängen und melodiös percussiven Passagen entfalten sich Rhythmus- und Klangenergien und verdichten sich zu nuancenreichen und ausdrucksstarken Stimmungsbildern.

Solokonzerte und musikalische Umrahmung von Ausstellungen, Vernissagen oder anderen Veranstaltungen.